Tags

, , , , , , ,


  • A year ago my sister was a primary school teacher living in Dubai; now she is wheelchair bound, officially retired and going to be moving back in with my parents.
  • A year ago I was enjoying being (fairly) newly married and sorting out the house; now we are looking forward to our first child in November.
  • A year ago my parents were retired and planning trips across the world; now they are the main carers for my sister and looking forward to becoming grand-parents for the first time.

The first doctor who saw my sister in England said if she was still this severely unconscious seven weeks after the accident then she would likely never wake up. And yet now she is making biscuits, demanding cake and going to the theatre. OK, there’s still a long way to go in her recovery but she has made amazing progress so far – long may it continue! My parents have somewhat put their life on hold to look after her – I’ve lost count of the number of holidays they’ve cancelled, and we never made it skiing last winter. They are learning to take each day as it comes and so are we. I hope we will be able to continue this mindset once the baby arrives and enjoy the moment.

Roll on the next year!

