Tags

, , , ,


I don’t seem to be very good at keeping in touch with people I don’t see regularly. I phone people if I have something to say, but that’s not very often. The only people I seem to talk to with any regularity on the phone at the moment are my parents. And I hate having to phone someone I don’t know, maybe that’s because I don’t like asking for help (although I’m getting better at that – I think!).

You would have thought that the plethora of social networking would have made it easier, but if anything that is an illusion and makes me think that I’m staying in touch in a “look how many friends I have” sort of a way. Although, most of the people I consider my closest friends don’t really use things like Facebook very often, and so I don’t get to hear about what they’re doing and the issues in their lives. I certainly self-censor what I put out there and in no way is my Facebook profile my “social CV” as I have heard others refer to it.

It’s not that I don’t call people because I don’t want to talk to them – more that I have nothing to say. I used to sit in the sixth form common room at school and wait for people to talk to me – a sort of a test to see if they really liked me. And once I haven’t spoken to someone in a while it feels like I really need a big reason to call and I lose the habit. I also start to wonder that if they don’t ring me it’s because they don’t want to talk to me.

What I’m trying to say is an apology to those who I haven’t spoken to recently and a promise to try and do better in the future. Understanding there is a problem is the first step to overcoming it, right…

