accessibility of web2.0


As part of the course I’m doing at the moment I had to create an accessible learning object. As all the tools I would use within my work would create something that they wouldn’t be able to authenticate in to see. So I decided to use squidoo so that it would be available online. What this made me realise is how inaccessible many of these web2.0 tools are.

My first thoughts on this:

  • I looked to see what accessibility guidelines the site as a whole was built to, and I couldn’t find any mention of accessibility in any of their help material.
  • In order to add an image description I had to add the image using html directly, rather than through their image uploading tool.
  • They severely limit the amount of code you can include in your site; banning tables was a real problem for this activity for me, but also limits what could be done with the site for “real”.
Leave a Reply

Up ↑

