what do I want?


I recently started reading Chris Guillebeau’s blog on The Art of Non-Conformity: Unconventional strategies for life, work and travel and have found it really interesting and thought-provoking. It is challenging me to think about what I really want to do and where I want to be going. I have some ideas, but nothing concrete yet, as it’s tied into my previous comments about who I am and the balance of free time and money.

I’ve heard it said before that everyone needs a balance of security and uncertainty in the different aspects of their life and I can certainly see that is true over the last few years.Previously I’ve felt that things were veering too much towards the uncertain end of the spectrum for compfort, but now I wonder if (especailly outside of work) they are heading a bit too much the other way. Which is a good thing and yet makes me wonder if I need to re-evaluate what I want out of life.

I have a few ideas of things to change and different things to do, that are maybe a bit unconventional and more risky, and I shall see how they go. I’m not going to say what yet, but if they suceed I shall write more details.

Fingers crossed…

One thought on “what do I want?

Add yours

  1. Hi Clari, just stumbling into your site here, and I immediately feel that you write with great clarity. I also see that you have a keen interest in politics, something which I am a complete ignoramus about!

    I shall have to check out the blog you mention because, with all due respect I think it must be impossible to ‘balance’ uncertainty! Often it appears that what we expect to achieve – doesn’t often turn out as expected anyway, and occasionally even better things happen! Life is really quite a challenging surprise at the best of times.

    Don’t you think that often what we ‘think’ we want out of life, isn’t exactly what we ‘need’ for our own development. (Under that category I’d include chips and chocolate, but hey!) 😉 Life’s too short.
    Best wishes,
    Socialpaws

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

