Tags

, , ,


Well, the digital economy bill passed its second reading and will be read again today with only clause 43 being dropped (I think that’s the only change anyway). It is somewhat sad that only 46 MPs were there to debate it although good that my MP Mark Lancaster was there, he even asked a question. Not sure he stayed til the end though and he still hasn’t replied to my email…

It is promising that so much of this information is available online – live viewing of the house, text transcript of the debates the next day – but as this clever and amusing analogy to the bill shows, the bill itself is a big let down and still has lots of problems. And there’s also a YouTube mash-up of some of the discussion – I thought when I first saw it that they had edited together Siôn Simon saying “creativity is the enemy”, but no he did actually say that phrase!

