Tags

, ,


Having seen a couple of posts on Reading Habits (inc Joeyanne Libraryanne) I thought I’d join in too, so here’s my answers:

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

Sometimes I eat whilst reading – generally chocolate based, or similar, but it depends on what’s available.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Not normally, although when I was studying I did highlight bits.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

I normally use a bookmark, although if I don’t have anything I can use I’ll fold the corner over. I do sometimes lay the book over the arm of the sofa as well.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Both – I read non-fiction during lunch at work, and generally fiction at home. It varies depending on what I feel like at the time I start a book – if I’m feeling serious or if I want to read something trashier and less demanding!

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Has to be hard copy, I’ve never got on with audiobooks, although I have read a couple of ebooks.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

If it’s fiction I find it very difficult to put down before the end of the book (hence I don’t read fiction at work!), otherwise for non-fiction at the end of a chapter.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

Not normally, although it would depend on context and whether I think I can guess what it means!

What are you currently reading?

Often I am not reading any novels, as if I get into the story I will read til the end (drives my husband mad!), but at the moment I am in the middle of a few as I’ve got stuck and/or distracted:

  • At work: “Collapse: how societies choose to fail or survive” by Jared Diamond
  • At home:
    • Novels: “Clarissa” by Samuel Richardson (I was named after this and have been reading it on and off – mainly off – for the last 15 years or so); “The inheritance of loss” by Kiran Desai; “The picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde; and I’ve just started re-reading “The Count of Monte Cristo” by Alexandre Dumas again.
    • Non-fiction: “101 ways to develop your people without really trying” by Peter Honey & Alan Hurst; “Shakespeare’s wife” by Germaine Greer; and “Relativity: The special and general theory” by Albert Einstein so I can explain it to my Grandpa.

What is the last book you bought?

“Preserves: River Cottage Handbook Number 2” by Pam Corbin – now we’re married we make jam, so require multiple jam-making books!

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

I have different books on the go in different places (one at my desk to read during lunch at work, one by the side of my bed, and a few others scattered around the house (hence the list of books above!). I also regularly re-read books I enjoyed.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

It varies a lot, from not reading very much at all to reading every spare moment I get.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

Both, I choose books based on what the story/subject area is and whether I’ve liked anything else by the author. I read both series and individual books.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

It depends on the situation – I’ve recommended both Jodie Picoult and Kelley Armstrong recently.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

My husband has insisted that we organise our books by genre, then by author’s last name, then by series (if an author has written multiple series), then by date of publication! I am somewhat distressed by this and also by the fact that everyone assumes that it was my insistence as I’m a librarian. Previously my books were organsied by how much I liked them, by what fitted on each shelf – keeping books by the same author together – and by theme (eg all the books about dragons were together), which I can understand would make things difficult for anyone else to find!

If you’re really interested in what books we have they’re all catalogued in LibraryThing (although I haven’t got round to tagging them according to how we’ve split them into genres – one day maybe!).

