Tags

, , , , ,


Just over 5 months ago I started this job and I’ve been thinking alot recently about the differences between the two roles and whether this job is what I expected it would be (mainly because I had my appraisal earlier in the week).

The two main things that I now no longer do, are working on the helpdesk (so I have virtually no contact with students) and working with courses. These were two parts of my previous job that I enjoyed and found very satisfying, but whilst it’s a bit sad that I no longer do these I knew that they were not part of the new job so I can’t really complain!

I now have a team to manage, which is one of the best bits about the new role, as they’re great people and I enjoy working with them. Some of the management side is more challenging, especially as I’m not confident that I’m supporting them in the best possible way, or giving them what they need to do their job.

One thing that has really surprised me is the extent to which I’ve been thrown in at the deep end with the role, especially with some of the more strategic work. I’m not sure if that’s because I already worked here and so people forget that I’m new, if it’s a compliment as they think I’m capable and so don’t need the time to adjust, or if they’re under the misapprehension that as I’m new to the role I don’t have enough to do!

The major difference between the two roles though, is the workload and the extent to which new tasks are given to me with fairly short deadlines. This wasn’t something I was all that aware of before, and I now realise how much I was protected from it in my previous role.

I find the variety of tasks in both roles to be what I enjoy, as I like doing different things, but it does make it more challenging, especially for time management and prioritisation of the different tasks. Just as well I like challenges!

