Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Last week I had an interview for a new job, well a 12 month project management secondment at my current place of work. Partly because of the well publicised tendency of prospective employers to google job applicants and mainly because two (of the three) interviewers are friends with me in Facebook and/or Twitter I decided not to write anything anywhere about the job application or preparing for the interview. I’m sure they are too professional to let any comments I wrote on Twitter or Facebook have any bearing on their decision to hire me or not, but I felt uncomfortable writing comments that I knew would be read by them and that might have portrayed me in a different way to how I would present myself at an interview. For example, the fact that I only really started doing any interview prep until the day before the interview doesn’t affect how well prepared I am at the interview, but could be interpreted that I couldn’t be bothered to do anything before that. (Actually we had already arranged to go and visit some friends for the weekend and we finished making our wedding invitations and sent them out, so interview prep had to be done in a day of annual leave as I was only given a week’s notice that I was invited to interview!) It was strange being interviewed by people I knew, but I think it went alright – I can only think of a couple of things I should have mentioned but didn’t!

It’s a really interesting project and I hope I can still be a part of it, even though I didn’t get the job. I’m a bit disappointed, but pleased that I was considered appointable, even though they went for a candidate with more experience in the end. Although it is interesting that as they decided to go for an external candidate they consider that it will be easier for them to learn how MPOW works and get to know people, rather than the time that I might need to develop the project management skills.

Anyway, I think it was a positive experience and I’m sure it will be good experience for the next time I’m interviewed.

