anniversaries


Today we’ve celebrated the fact that one of my colleagues has worked in the Library here for 25 years. She told us some funny stories and provided us with lots of chocolate and cake, which was very kind of her. But it did make me think – 25 years ago I was 18 months old, so she’s worked here almost as long as I’ve been alive. What do I think I’ll be doing in 25 years? 5 years ago I would have never predicted that I’d be where I am today, so I’m not sure I can predict where I will be or what I’ll be doing that far in advance with any meaning. All I can do is pose some questions to think about, and maybe develop a goal of where I want to be then, but I’m certain that the world will change and so I will end up somewhere different.

Will I still be working at the OU? If I am, what will it be like? What will I do there? Will I be married? Will I have children? What will my family be doing? Where will we live? What will life be like?

There’s lots of Sci-Fi been written about what the future will be like – most of it’s rubbish as it’s too based on what life’s like now, but it will be interesting to see how the internet pervades everything and what the knock-on effects of that will be. It seems to me that we’re on the cusp of a revolution and I don’t know what the future will be.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

