Facebook and work?


I’m trying very hard to keep my Facebook profile as a personal activity, but however hard I try it seems to be getting more worky! And I’m not sure if it’s a good or a bad thing. I’m aware when putting things up that they can be read by some of my colelagues, but the only thing it stops me doing is setting a status that shows I’m not doing all that much!

I think it could become a useful tool to use for work, as a large proportion of the Science Faculty seem to be on there, although it’s getting the contacts set up to start with that will be the challenge! And I’m not sure it’s what I want to do.

Trying to split myself into separate bits for work and “play” seems artificial and is only a first level approximation of things, as I have friends who I work with and some things can get very complicated. The thing I like about Facebook is having one place to add things to which others can look at when they choose, and then you can easily see what others are doing. So even if I don’t send a message or anything to someone I’m still aware of what they’re up to – at least regarding what they share on Facebook anyway!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

